



Funded Doctoral Positions at International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems

imprs-is

The Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems and the Universities of Stuttgart and Tübingen collaborate to offer an **interdisciplinary doctoral program**, the International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (**IMPRS-IS**). This doctoral program will accept its ninth generation of students in spring of 2025.

IMPRS-IS is a key element of Baden-Württemberg's Cyber Valley initiative to accelerate basic research and commercial development in **robotics and artificial intelligence**.

To Apply

You can apply at imprs.is.mpg.de before 11:59 p.m. (23:59) CET on November 15, 2024.

We seek students who want to earn a doctorate while contributing to world-leading research in areas such as

- Artificial Intelligence
- Biomedical Technology
- Computational Cognitive Science
- Computer Vision and Graphics
- Control Systems and Optimization
- Data Science
- Haptics and Human-Computer Interaction
- Machine Learning
- Micro- and Nano-Robotics
- Natural Language Processing
- Neuroscience
- Perceptual Inference
- Robotics and Human-Robot Interaction
- Soft Robotics and Materials

People with a strong academic background and a master's degree (conferred or expected soon) in Engineering, Computer Science, Cognitive Science, Mathematics, Control Theory, Neuroscience, Materials Science, Physics, or related fields should apply.

Program Details

- Admitted doctoral students can join our program starting in spring of 2025.
- You will conduct your research in either Stuttgart or Tübingen, Germany.
- · You will be mentored by our internationally renowned faculty.
- IMPRS-IS offers a wide variety of scientific seminars, workshops, and social activities.
- All aspects of our program are in English.
- Your doctoral degree will be conferred upon successful completion of your project.
- Our dedicated staff will assist you will throughout your time as a doctoral student.

World-Renowned Faculty

Our renowned faculty include Amirreza Aghakhani, Aamir Ahmad, Frank Allgöwer, Kai Arras, Robert Bamler, Christian Baumgartner, Philipp Berens, Matthias Bethge, Michael J. Black, Wieland Brendel, Andrés Bruhn, Andreas Bulling, Martin Butz, Luiz Chamon, Manfred Claassen, Katharina Eggensperger, Benedikt Ehinger, Carsten Eickhoff, Andreas Geiger, Jonas Geiping, Martin A. Giese, Moritz Hardt, Florian Hartmann, Daniel Häufle, Matthias Hein, Philipp Hennig, Christian Holm, Andrea Iannelli, Christoph Keplinger, Katherine J. Kuchenbecker, Hendrik Lensch, Nicole Ludwig, Sabine Ludwigs, Jakob Macke, Georg Martius, Celestine Mendler-Dünner, Michael Mühlebach, Sven Nahnsen, Mathias Niepert, Seong Joon Oh, Antonio Orvieto, Aniket Pal, Nico Pfeifer, Gerard Pons-Moll, Michael Pradel, C. David Remy, Alina Roitberg, Philipp Rothemund, Samira Samadi, Dieter Schmalstieg, Syn Schmitt, Bernhard Schölkopf, Sabine Schulte im Walde, Michael Sedlmair, Thomas Speck, Steffen Staab, Ingo Steinwart, Benjamin Unger, Alexander Verl, Claire Vernade, Ulrike von Luxburg, Daniel Weiskopf, Felix Wichmann, Bob Williamson, Andreas Wortmann, Thomas Wortmann, and Charley Wu.

Associated faculty include R. Harald Baayen, Franz Baumdicker, Peter Dayan, Jonathan Fiene, Konstantin Genin, Bedartha Goswami, Ksenia Keplinger, Miriam Klopotek, Anna Levina, Kay Nieselt, Peter Pott, Gunther Richter, Cornelia Sindermann, Maria Wirzberger, and Thomas Wolfers.

IMPRS-IS is an equal opportunity employer dedicated to excellence through diversity and does not discriminate on the basis of age, race, sex, disability, sexual orientation, national origin, religion, marital status, gender identity, or any other non-job-related criteria. We believe in the importance of a multicultural community of students, faculty, and staff who seek to advance our commitment to diversity and inclusion. IMPRS-IS strives to create and maintain working and learning environments that are inclusive, equitable, and welcoming.

Admission will be competitive. If selected, you will receive funding via an employment contract, subject to the rules of the Max Planck Society and the two participating universities.