Research Group for Computational Statistics

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Marco Oesting

Since 1.8.2020, Jun.-Prof. Oesting is heading the Research Group for Computational Statistics.

Job posting

At the Institute for Stochastics and Applications of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Stuttgart, a position is available within the research group "Computational Statistics" (Jun.-Prof. M. Oesting) with a start on March 01, 2022 (or upon agreement) for a

postdoctoral research associate

initially limited for one year (probably with the possibility of an extension). Possible research topics cover the field of extreme value theory and statistics, e.g., modeling of spatio-temporal dependence structures or development and analysis of statistical methods for high-dimensional data.

We expect a completed very good PhD in mathematics - preferably in the field of probability and statistics. Knowledge of extreme value statistics, spatial statistics, time series analysis or high-dimensional statistics as well as programming skills are desirable.

The payment will be according to TV-L  (pay group E 13). The working hours are 100% of the regular weekly working hours with a teaching obligation of 4 hours per week.

The University of Stuttgart would like to increase the proportion of women in the scientific field and is therefore particularly interested in applications from women. Severely disabled persons are given priority in the case of equal suitability. Recruitment is carried out by the Central Administration.

We look forward to receiving your complete application, which should be sent by email in a single pdf document to marco.oesting@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de no later than January 21, 2022.

All relevant information (in German) are also available via https://www.stellenwerk-stuttgart.de/jobboerse/postdoc-computational-statistics-stuttgart-211227-509652.

This image shows Marco Oesting

Marco Oesting

Jun.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat.

SimTech-Tenure-Track Professorship, Head of the Research Group for Computational Statistics

This image shows Elke Maurer

Elke Maurer

 

Secretary office ISA

To the top of the page

Arbeitsgruppe für Computational Statistics

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Marco Oesting

Seit 1.8.2020 leitet Jun.-Prof. Oesting die Arbeitsgruppe für Computational Statistics.

Stellenausschreibung

Am Institut für Stochastik und Anwendungen des Fachbereichs Mathematik der Universität Stuttgart ist zur Verstärkung der Arbeitsgruppe „Computational Statistics“ (Jun.-Prof. M. Oesting) zum 01.03.2022 (oder später) eine Stelle einer/eines

wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiterin / wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeiters (Postdoc)

befristet für die Dauer von zunächst einem Jahr (voraussichtlich mit Möglichkeit zur Verlängerung) zu besetzen. Mögliche Forschungsthemen liegen im Bereich der Extremwerttheorie und -statistik, beispielsweise in der Modellierung räumlich-zeitlicher Abhängigkeitsstrukturen oder in der Entwicklung und Analyse statistischer Verfahren für hochdimensionale Daten.

Wir erwarten eine abgeschlossene sehr gute Promotion in Mathematik – vorzugsweise auf dem Gebiet der Stochastik – oder Statistik. Vorkenntnisse in den Bereichen Extremwertstatistik, räumliche Statistik, Zeitreihenanalyse oder hochdimensionale Statistik sowie Programmierkenntnisse sind wünschenswert. Die Möglichkeit einer eigenen wissenschaftlichen Weiterqualifikation im Rahmen der ausgeschriebenen Stelle ist gegeben.

Die Vergütung erfolgt nach dem Tarifvertrag für den öffentlichen Dienst der Länder (Entgeltgruppe E 13 TV-L). Die Arbeitszeit beträgt 100% der regelmäßigen wöchentlichen Arbeitszeit mit einer Lehrverpflichtung von 4 Semesterwochenstunden.

Die Universität Stuttgart möchte den Anteil der Frauen erhöhen. Frauen werden deshalb ausdrücklich zur Bewerbung aufgefordert. Schwerbehinderte werden bei gleicher Eignung vorrangig eingestellt. Die Einstellung erfolgt durch die Zentrale Verwaltung.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre vollständige Bewerbung, die Sie bitte bis spätestens zum 21. Januar 2022 per E-Mail in einem einzigen pdf-Dokument an marco.oesting@mathematik.uni-stuttgart.de schicken.

Alle relevanten Informationen sind auch verfügbar via https://www.stellenwerk-stuttgart.de/jobboerse/postdoc-computational-statistics-stuttgart-211227-509652.

Dieses Bild zeigt Marco Oesting

Marco Oesting

Jun.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat.

SimTech-Tenure-Track-Professur, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe für Computational Statistics

Dieses Bild zeigt Elke Maurer

Elke Maurer

 

Sekretariat ISA

Zum Seitenanfang